• Development of superconducting structures with unique electromagnetic characteristics and the study of their physical properties...

Alexandre Karpov

Без имени-1Leading researcher of the labD.Sc in Physics and Mathematics

Professor of the Department of theoretical physics and quantum technologies NUST “MISiS”

e-mail: alexandre.karpov@yahoo.com

Scientific interests: Superconductivity, Josephson junctions and arrays, Superconductive electronics, Microwave spectroscopy, mm- and sub-mm experiments with superconductors, THz Instrumentation and devices, Scientific Instrumentation, Radio Astronomy, Space instrumentation, Quantum bits (qbits), and Metamaterials.

Scientific advances: Alexandre Karpov is a leading expert in development of superconductive detectors of Terahertz radiation for astrophysics instrumentation. He developed of state of the art receivers for THz, millimeter and submillimeter wavelength using Josephson junctions, approaching the quantum limit of sensitivity.

Developed superconductive sensors are used for Radio Astronomy for more than 15 years at 10 major radio telescopes, in France, Spain, Chile, USA and Switzerland.

He developed, built, and delivered the 1200 GHz (1.2 THz) state of the art sensor for ESA and NASA space observatory “Herschel”, operating in space.

Over 40 papers in refereed journals. In total over 600 citations, over 10 invited talks at various international conferences.  H-index 12.

карпов и аверкин

In the laboratory “Superconducting metamaterials”. Prof. Karpov and postgraduate Alexander Averkin.

Research projects and contracts: He had responcibility for the development of superconductive sensors of Terahertz radiation for radioastronomy in California
Institute of Technology (Caltech) and French – German Institute for Radioastronomy of Millimeter Waves. He won a grant in nano-electronics in Russia and
manage it at MISIS, and also participates in the Megagrant “Superconductive Metamaterials”.

Referee in IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Technique.

Scientific recognition: 

2006: NASA award for the contribution in the preparation of Herschel Space Observatory of ESA.

2010: NASA award for the successful performance in space of the sensors at the Herschel Space Observatory